ready to learn....

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

starlifter

ready to learn....

Post by starlifter »

when it comes to lighting and LED's, i'm a novice. I've used some pre-built kits, they work great and i have no regrets. what i want though, is to actually learn myself. to take the initiative and invest the time to be able to design LED circuits, work with timing chips, have some fun.

so short of going back to school, any suggestions on where to start? or maybe the only way to do it right IS to go back to school. hey, i have some free evenings!
en'til Zog

Post by en'til Zog »

This hobby needs a good 'Blinkification for Beginners' book. Forest Mims has some books and booklets for beginners, and "Electronic Circuits for the Evil Genius" has some good information.

You've read all the "announcement"s in this forum, right? Maybe copied and pasted them so you have 'em all handy? Those are a good place to start. Then read other threads in this forum for more ideas.

You might start by getting a handful of LEDs ( www.goldmine-elec.com has bunches of assorted ones for fairly cheap ), an "experimenter's breadboard" (a plastic block with a lot of holes to stuff circuit bits into), and an assortment of resistors. Oh, and a few 9 volt battery connectors. Then look up the schematics and .jpg's in the "announcements" and start experimenting.
jwrjr

Post by jwrjr »

I thought about writing such a book. Problem is that while I know the subject, I can't write for beans. (sigh)
en'til Zog

Post by en'til Zog »

I have a 26 page version - "Things that go BLINK in the Night" but it needs updating and expansion.

I've written some books on alternative (green) technology, and being clear and getting the ideas across simply is not easy.
jwrjr

Post by jwrjr »