Small letters: scribe or decals?

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Arklan

Small letters: scribe or decals?

Post by Arklan »

ok, so i'm working on a "cryptex" right now, and am having trouble with one particaular aspect of it. basically, i need letters. really small letters.

i've got cylinders about a centimeter thick and 2 centimeters diameter, and i want to put the entire alphabet going around the circumference. i'm just not sure the best way to do it.

now, clearly, decals could work fine, but i have no experience with them as of yet. i haven't built any kits in AGES, and only just started scratchbuilding last year, and i havent dont anything beyond construction and priming, as of yet. so, yea. decals make me nervous. that and i have no idea where i would get ones the right size.

alternatively, i was thinking i could scribe them on, but this has complications as well, since these letters would be pretty small. scribing anything freehand is basically out of the question, i think. so, templates then. any suggestions?

if i were to scribe it in, i'd like for it to be decently moldable, but i'm modling on the cheap and using aves to make my mold, so i dont really know how well it would deal iwth that fine of detail.

perhaps i should just buckle down, buy some decal paper, print out some letters and get to work with a few practice runs, eh?

so, any recomendations?
I don't make the rules. I just poke holes in them for my own benefit. - Arklan Uth Oslin

You know it's been a long day when you start singing parodies of Ricard Wagner operas. Kill the Red team, kill the Red Team... - Arklan Uth Oslin
Chacal
Location: Rio. Always unseasonably warm, even in the Winter, when we'll host the Summer Olympic Games of 2016

Post by Chacal »