Newbies to electronics and lighting...a rough analogy

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

quantumplasmathingie

Newbies to electronics and lighting...a rough analogy

Post by quantumplasmathingie »

I'm new to this whole LED thing myself...I just got started messing around with lighting a few months ago, but I've already done a couple of fun builds for my nephew on internal batteries for him to play with.
I have to admit, I was pretty confused at first with all these electronic terms and numbers and units...these things don't always behave the way you'd think they should.

I was thinking about it (after a couple of beers, so my mind was nice and relaxed), and it occurred to me that electricity in a circuit is analogous to water flowing from a tank (like a tank on a water tower) through a series of pipes. The voltage is the water pressure, the current is amount of water flowing through a given pipe, and the resistance is like the diameter of the pipe. A large pipe (wide gauge wire) has lower resistance (more flow-through), and a narrower pipe (narrow gauge wire) has a higher resistance (less flow-through). Resistors are like reduction valves or joins, reducing a larger diameter pipe to a smaller diameter...decreasing the amount of flow through the pipe.

You can imagine my suprise when I discovered that the Hydraulic Analogy (as it is called), has been around for over a century, and was called the Drain Pipe Theory by Oliver Heaviside (a pioneer in electrodynamics). There's a whole Wikipedia page on it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydraulic_analogy

There are limits to the analogy, of course. but in designing a simple circuit to light some LEDs, it works well to help figure out how to provide enough current, without draining your battery too quickly.
jcdenton

Post by jcdenton »